Purpose

So I’ve been attracting a lot of information about life purpose recently. Not surprisingly, as I am deepening my own inquiry into the question of “why I’m here?” And if you’ve read many of my posts, you’re probably clear it’s not just to make money, procreate and retire on the beach. But I’ve been struggling recently because as I deepen my meditation practice there is such a peace and real tranquility in that space that is so enticing! I totally get why people move to ashrams or become monks/nuns. To utilize your physical life in pursuit for that spiritual embrace as much as possible is sooooo desirable. And in a sense much more fulfilling and easier than to live your spiritual practice in the madness of this human world.

But then I remind myself of all the great teachers who have blessed  my life because: #1 they chose (or perhaps felt called) to be a voice for spiritual principal rather than live by the status quo and #2 they integrated those principals into the political and advocacy work they influenced around them. If it wasn’t for that choice so many millions would have be left without some element of their gift, their wisdom, their inspiration.

Aung San Suu Kyi

san-suu-kyi

Leymah Gbowee & Deepak Choprad38ded546224bc9805a668b36ec6351c1_34Sai baba

sathyaBabaGrandmothers Council

council_of_grandmothersHis Holiness the Dalai Lama & Desmond Tutu

dalai_lama_south_africa_09_27_2011I’m reminded that each in their own way invite us to serve. To serve those in physical poverty, to serve those in mental poverty either of which evolves our collective capacity to see one another as part of our human family.

So while I consider moving to northern India, I’ll have to continue to live this life I’ve created as a professional, a mother, a musician, an older sister, a facilitator and a social peace advocate. I have to create a way to live my spiritual practice and not limit my moments of zen to my meditation pillow or the hours around dawn. One of my favorite teachers, Marianne Williamson speaks on this a lot, calling for spiritual people to not dissect their presence from the world and its challenges, but to fully integrate themselves into being the answer.

I’ll end this post with a beautiful quote by Eckhart Tolle:

Dear Friend,

May I suggest a deeper and somewhat unusual perspective on who you are?

You are not just a person, and you are not IN the Universe.
You ARE the Universe, which IN YOU is awakening, experiencing itself, becoming conscious. That consciousness is who you are in essence. We are all fleeting expressions of it. The Universe awakens THROUGH experiencing challenges and limitations. That means YOU awaken and deepen through your challenges, as does humanity as a whole. So welcome or at least accept all that life brings you. Change what can be changed, otherwise surrender to what IS. Feel the Presence within you as the background to every experience. Know that, as Jesus put it, “you are the light of the world.”

2 thoughts on “Purpose

  1. Amazing blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m totally confused .. Any tips? Thanks a lot!

    • Wow! Thanks for the compliment! I never know how folks react to what I write about, so your comments are REALLY appreciated.

      Hmmm, hints for aspiring writers? Well one of my mentors is a poet and when I asked her this question many years ago she told me “read what resonates with you and write what you can’t find to read, but think should be written.” I also love to read lots of different genres: poetry, fiction, non-fiction, biographies (especially about other writers) as that helps focus and illustrate how I write.

      As far as websites go, I’m all about freebies! I started on Blogger.com and then switched to WordPress last year b/c they offered more free features. I think they’re great and wonderfully customizable. WordPress is great if you’re looking to host your own website in the future as you can simply transfer their platform to your domain if you pay for that. So my suggestion would be to build a free site, get a community of followers who are enjoying your content. Once that is built, and you want to start offering services or selling items/books you can pay for more features/hosting.

      Hope this helps! This is a great question, so I hope you ask lots of folks to help you to just get started! Please share your site link once you get it live!

Leave a Reply

